Safety Men

The AAGSC was originally known as the Australasian Airline Ground Safety Council and was a spin-off from a similar organisation, the Australasian Airline Flight Safety Council (AAFSC), formed in 1980 by the Safety Managers of Air New Zealand, Qantas Airways, Trans-Australia Airlines, and Ansett Airlines.

While an exploratory meeting between Ground Safety personnel of those airlines took place in March 1982, the first meeting proper was held in September of that year. Norman Hogwood of Air New Zealand was elected Chairman and it was agreed that meetings would be held quarterly, hosted by the member airlines in rotation. It was further agreed that the core business of the Council would be those activities pertaining to the airport ramp and terminal operations.

In 1983 the Council was expanded to five members when East West Airlines joined and, in line with the policy of the AAFSC, the Royal Australian Air Force and the Royal New Zealand Air Force were also offered membership which both accepted.

The nature of the Council’s business agendas quickly identified the need to expand membership further by including those organisations who share the same airport working environment. Thus it was that membership was opened to fuel companies, catering companies and handling agencies.

Progressively, it had become custom to invite representatives from the major airport companies in the region to attend meetings in the capacity of invited guests and by 1997 it had become clear that, due to the evolution of the aviation industry and the far-reaching legislation changes taking place, the Council’s membership policy should be changed to allow airports to become full members.

The seven men of the safety council taken at the first AAGSC meeting held in Auckland in 1983.
Standing  - Olly Ojczyk (Ansett), Bruce (East- West), Bob Burdon (Qantas) and John Edwards (TAA).
Seated - Dennis O'Brien, Vince Moroney and Norm Hogwood (all Air New Zealand)

This was agreed to and the name was changed to the Australasian Aviation Ground Safety Council.

The AAGSC Charter calls for an administrative Executive comprising Chairperson, Deputy Chairperson, Secretary, Treasurer, Press Officer, Education Officer, and Membership Officer. Terms of office are two years with the possibility of re-election.

As at mid-2010 the position of Chairperson has been held by the following personnel –

  • 1982 - 1991 Norman Hogwood (Air New Zealand)

  • 1992 - 2001 Ulrich Ojczyk (Ansett Airlines)

  • 2002 - Mid 2007 Mark Farrar (Sydney Airports Corporation)

  • Mid 2007 - 2009 Chris Barber (Qantas Airways)

  • 2010 - Kevin Taylor (Cobham)


Airline Group receives Ramp Safety Award 1998

Members of the Air New Zealand group have been recognised for their efforts in maintaining high safety standards in the airport ramp environment.

Click here to read more